election commission meghalaya polls

EC announces dates for Meghalaya Assembly polls

January 18, 2018

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced the poll dates for the Legislative Assembly elections in Meghalaya & two other N.E states.
Polling in Meghalaya will take place on February 18 and the results will be declared on March 3. The terms of Meghalaya assembly will end on March 6. It has total 60 Assembly seats.
The election in Meghalaya is significant for the Congress party, as it is one of the few states under its rule. The Congress is in power for the last eight years in Meghalaya and had won 29 seats in the previous election.

Although Chief Minister Mukul Sangma had brought more stability for the party, the BJP is now looking to take over Meghalaya using the development plank.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi in December opened several infrastructure projects ahead of the assembly elections in Meghalaya.

Parties other than the BJP too are gearing up to fight the 2018 Assembly polls in Meghalaya.

NPP (National People Party) is out with the name of 24 candidates, notably among them is former union minister Agatha K Sangma. The party also has quite a presence in Jaintia and Khasi hills.

Meanwhile, United Democratic Party (UDP) has decided to join forces with other parties with a similar manifesto and aims to bring down the Congress.

The upcoming assembly elections in Meghalaya having 60 seats will mark its 10th legislature.

Article Categories:
Exclusive · Politics

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *